RegisterHomeNewsForumsArticlesDownloadsSearchContact usChat
Already a member? Sign in.
DriverScanner


Main Menu
» Home
» News
» Forums
» Articles
» Downloads
» Chat
» Search
» Register
» User CP
» Tag Cloud
» Disclaimer
» Submit News
» Contact Us
Follow Us
» Facebook
» Twitter
» Steam
» YouTube
» RSS Feed

Articles
Is AMD Using Viral Marketing/Shills?
Published on September 21th, 2006

A few months ago there were a few suspicions towards a graphic chips manufacturer regarding a possible use of viral marketing by using shills to provide positive feedback to its products on many forums. Recently, we received evidence that may link AMD, a processor manufacturer, to a possible use of viral marketing/shills on hardware site's forums by a third party company.

The story began ten days ago when two new users registered on our forums and posted a thread about AMD's new Virtual Tradeshow. The first user was called "programmer3642" and the second was "machinetime53". These two started a suspicious discussion regarding AMD's Virtual Tradeshow. The first user looked like a spammer to our staff members and we started to check it out.

After long attempts at finding more information regarding these users and their messages, we came across the fact that some users have posted very similar posts on other forums:

* HotHardware
* PC Perspective
* BigBruin
* X-bit Labs
* PC Guide
* Computing.net
* PDA Gold
* Backpage
* SwishTalk

When we were sure that these guys were just spamming, we started to check their IPs and we have been shocked to find out that the IP is leading to a company called "Design Reactor". According to this company's Website, they are dealing with advertisement, digital communications, and more. According to their Website, their main client is AMD. And there are many more clients such as: HP, Sun, Visa, Motorola and others.



We couldn't find any information on their Website about possible viral marketing services. Their website is very unclear about this matter and we couldn't find much information that could prove a case of shilling on forums. So, we decided to contact them anonymously. We created a new email account on a new domain and contacted them. We asked them if they are offering viral marketing services and here's their reply:



As you can see, they are confirming that they are offering viral marketing. From these posts and the IP trace, we can surely understand that these guys are spamming and shilling on forums to promote AMD's Virtual Tradeshow. The question now is: Has AMD told them to do that? Or are they doing it on their own?

Update:
It seems that Tech Report has some more information about this story.



Recent Headlines





Powered by vBulletin from vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO

User Agent   Archive   Copyright © 2013 NGOHQ.com - All Rights Reserved   Disclaimer   Top